Quick, Healthy Meal: Sundried tomato chicken and broccoli

There’s always something cooking in my kitchen! And, I hardly make the same thing twice, unless it’s super easy to make and quick. Or of course if it’s delicious. Or if someone requests it. You see, I get bored with the same thing all the time. Whether that’s food or workouts:)

So, the other night I realized that it was dinner time, but I hadn’t even thought about what I would make before that moment. Usually I at least have an idea of what to fix. So, I went to see what was in the fridge. I found one of the huge chicken breasts that I had set out to make chicken soup for my sick hubby the night before but didn’t end up using. There were some veggies that required chopping and I didn’t want to take the time to do that. So I found a bag of frozen chopped broccoli in the fridge. That’s all the inspiration I needed! I know, I know chicken and broccoli sounds boring. But I kicked in some flavor with sun dried tomatoes. AND it only took me 20 minutes to whip up! You can’t beat a bowl full of flavor that only takes 20 minutes!

Here’s what you need for this super quick and yummy meal for 3: (You can always throw in extra chicken and broccoli for a bigger crowd)

  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1-2 boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 1-inch squares
  • 1 Tbsp chopped garlic
  • 1 bag of frozen broccoli
  • 1/2 cup chopped sun dried tomatoes
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In a saucepan add 1 cup of water and your bag of broccoli. Let the water come to a boil, cover, reduce heat to a simmer and let your broccoli cook for  a few minutes. You don’t want it to be mushy so don’t let it go too long.
  2. While your broccoli is cooking, heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the oil and the chicken. Season the chicken with salt and pepper. After a few minutes, flip your chicken over, season it again, and let it cook until no longer pink.
  3. Drain the broccoli
  4. Add the garlic to the chicken and stir, then add the broccoli and the sun dried tomatoes and mix it up.
  5. Let everything heat through for a few minutes.
  6. Serve it up with some fruit or over some cauliflower rice.

I hope that you enjoy this quick meal as much as we did!

Leave a Reply

