Chicken Salad Recipes

It’s my first day on the 21-Day Sugar Detox, and I’m super excited because I just ate some wonderful homemade chicken salad for lunch.

And it was awesome!

I don’t always get excited about lunch, but today I was inspired to try something different. That inspiration turned into something yummy!

Try chicken salad next time you’re looking for something quick, easy, and tasty without cooking!

Southwest Chicken Salad

Takes 5 minutes to prepare (if you’re using leftover chicken) and serves 2 people.

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
  • 1/4 cup oilve oil mayo (see recipe at the bottom of the page)
  • 1 Tbsp lime juice
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped (about a Tbsp)
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • handful of cherry tomatoes, sliced in half

Directions:

  1. Mix together the chicken, mayo, lime juice, cilantro, cumin, chili powder, and salt and pepper in a mixing bowl.
  2. Portion out onto a plate and garnish with avocado and tomatoes.
  3. You could add this on top of a pile of lettuce, or like me I ate some kale chips along with the salad. The kale chips are pretty much like eating regular chips only way more satisfying and guilt-free.

The thing about chicken salad is you can really add anything you like to it and put a different spin on it depending on your mood.

The other day, I made some chicken salad with apples and walnuts!

Apple Walnut Chicken Salad

Takes 5 minutes to prepare (if you’ve cooked the chicken ahead of time) and makes enough for 2 people.

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
  • 1/4 cup olive oil mayo
  • 1 golden delicious apple (or whichever you like), peeled, cored, and chopped
  • 1/4 cup raw walnuts, chopped
  • 1 stalk of celery, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together in a mixing bowl.
  2. Serve on a bed of lettuce, or like me you can use the romaine lettuce leaves and make little wraps!

I like to make my own mayo, because it tastes so awesome and I know what’s in it. There’s lots of mayo in containers on the shelf with lots of additives and things that I don’t want to ingest. Most of them are made with canola oil, which is not good for you at all!

I make mine with healthy olive oil and an egg from a local, free-range chicken. This mayo is a great source of healthy omega-3’s and very nutrient-dense!

My husband who has never liked mayo, will eat this on everything.

Use it in your chicken/tuna/salmon salads, make salad dressing with it, or dip your meat or veggies in it.

Homemade Olive Oil Mayo

I got this recipe from Melissa at www.theclothesmakethegirl.com! I bought her cookbook, Well Fed, and love it! It’s got lots of great info about eating Paleo and inspiration for your kitchen adventures!

Check out this step-by-step video she made about how to make your mayo. I like to use my food processor instead of a blender because it has a handy attatchment that allows the olive oil to drip one drop at a time and keeps everything else inside the food processor. When I use my blender, mayo gets all over my kitchen!

Ingredients:

  • 1 good quality egg
  • 2 Tbsp bottled lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 cup light-tasting olive oil (not the extra-virgin kind)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground mustard

Directions:

  1. In a blender or food processor, add your egg and lemon juice. Let it sit for 20 minutes to 2 hours.
  2. Add into the blender or food processor the 1/4 cup of oil, salt, and ground mustard. Mix until frothy.
  3. While the blender or food processor is running, slowly pour in the cup of oil. This will take 2-3 minutes.
  4. Store in the refrigerator. Your mayo expires when your egg does.

I hope this inspires you to try some chicken salad! And to get creative in your kitchen!

Good luck if you’re doing the sugar detox with me!

Leave a Reply

